First day of TK

Today was B’s first day of transitional kindergarten. For those of you not steeped in this the way we have been lately, transitional kindergarten is like a bonus year of California public school if your kid’s birthday is between Sept 1 and Dec 1, making them ineligible to start kindergarten this year. It’s great, because it’s at the school he will now theoretically attend through 5th grade. His class actually happens to be a TK/kinder split, so he’s really getting a good introduction into the public school system.

This is us waiting outside the classroom this morning, and keeping the attitude light and playful:

He went inside, put stuff in his cubby and found his desk with his name on it. Then his teacher collected all the kids and went through the process of getting them seated on the rug in a circle. Once all the kids were seated, he passed out nametags to everyone, and we waited until B had his, and then Drew and I snuck out. (We were definitely not the last parents out of the room. I’m also proud that we didn’t film the entire circle ordeal, because it took forever and wasn’t super interesting.)

When I picked him up from after care, he was building this “fire fighting machine.” He was at the same table as the son of a coworker of mine, which was cool. If they were friends it’d be nice because her son did TK last year, they’re at the same aftercare, and we live close to each other.

He said he had a good day. He said at circle they practiced good listening, and near the end some kids didn’t listen, and got in some trouble. I asked if he was one of them, and he said, “Um no, not me.” I believe him because he sucks at lying, but I’m still curious.

This has been quite a week. B has clearly been anxious about the transition from his preschool to this new school, and he’s been showing it in a quiet, subdued attitude, needing extra cuddles, and getting really upset over things that aren’t really things. I feel for him. He reminds me so much of me. Over the last week, I haven’t wanted to talk to anyone, I’ve gotten mad at Drew upwards of six times over things that aren’t really things, and I’ve cried at least once a day. At least.

Tomorrow he won’t go to extended care, and I’ll just drop him and pick him up at the classroom. It’s weird not seeing his teacher (just seeing the aftercare teachers at the end of the day). But it’s the first day. There are also things that I am still unclear on, but I’m hoping they’ll all get ironed out. We’ll get there. And by the time we have to do this with H, it’ll be a snap.

It feels like such an accomplishment to get through the first day. So I’m just going to take that feeling of pride and accomplishment and run with it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

