Dental Antics

B had a dentist appointment, a checkup, and even though he has a good track record at these appointments, and it’s a pediatric dentist and they’re good at this, and they have TVs on the ceiling showing movies so the kids have something to distract them, I had to take him on my own, with H, so I was worried that it could be a disaster.

There was a bit of a scuffle in the (boring, adult) lobby, where they were crawling under a table and just making too much noise (I thought), and when I snagged him to stand him up, he yelped laughter and it was just too much and we had a whispered argument about decorous dental behavior.

But once we got into the pediatric section, it was great. H settled right down to watch Frozen on the TV in the waiting area, hugging a 2-foot-tall Elmo, and B went over to the chair with the hygienist. She had me stay in the waiting area.

First of all, the chair was upright, but when he climbed into it (while the hygienist’s back was turned) he lay down in the bottom part, so his head was where his butt should go. She turned back and laughed, and was like, “No, here, sit up and I’ll put the chair back.”

Then I was listening to them make small talk. His small talk is getting pretty nuanced. This is what I caught:

Her: How old are you?
Him: *folds thumb down* I’m four.
Her: Oh wow!
Him: I’m turning five this year.
Her: Do you go to school?
Him: Yeah. It’s in San Bruno.
Her: Which school is it?

Then he told her. (I’ll leave that detail out.)

A little later, he told her he has a toothbrush with minions on it.

Then the final one:

Him: I have Star Wars shoes.
Her: Oh, cool! My husband and my son love Star Wars.
Him: Oh, where is your husband?

That cracked me up. She came over and told me his teeth looked good, we should probably just keep helping him brush (we help A LOT), and that he doesn’t have a lot gaps so we should floss him “as much as possible.” Then the dentist came and checked him out, and then he came over and told me everything looks good.

He put up B’s x-rays from his last appointment in October, and said, “Do you have any questions?” And I was like, “Okay, not about this, but so…when do adult teeth form in your face? Like how early?” Drew and I have been debating this, because there’s this picture on the internet of a skull of a child, and it has the baby teeth in the mouth and the adult teeth in the skull above them, and it’s so creepy.

So the dentist said that the adult teeth start forming between ages 1-2, so that means H probably has some adult teeth growing in her face already too, EWWWW. Anyway, below are B’s x-rays, and you can see some of the adult teeth there. Gross.

Anyway, the appointment went well, except we did have another scuffle when I made H put Elmo back down, and she cried “Elmo! Elllllmoooo!” on the way out, and the women at the front desk laughed and said she was cute, which she is, except when she’s not. But I’m grateful for the two of them holding it together (mostly) and me holding it together (!) and no cavities and we got out of there unscathed.

It did take us about 10 minutes to get from the office on the second floor, downstairs to the front door, because H insisted on going down the stairs herself, but she has to go down on her butt, very slowly, and then they had to stop to talk to these other kids who we had seen upstairs in the office…and then right when we got to the door B realized he lost the head off of a little plastic Olaf figure he had had, and he wanted to go back, but I couldn’t face that, so I just made us leave. Ah well. Sorry Olaf’s head. You live at the dentist now.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

