89th Annual Academy Awards

Here are my definitely ranked Best Picture nominees for this year’s Oscars, from best to still-really-good.

Arrival
Fences
Manchester by the Sea
Hell or High Water
La La Land
Moonlight
Hidden Figures
Lion
Hacksaw Ridge

For me, this was a really strong season. I know the point is that these are all great movies, but this was a particularly good batch. Hacksaw Ridge was the only one that I thought was blech. Lion was good but hard to watch – and I felt like it didn’t quite live up to the way it was sold to me. But it was heartwrenching. Hidden Figures was a look into a true story that I’m so happy to have seen, but I felt at times that it was a more cheery look at the time period than is quite realistic.

Moonlight was a beautiful story, and well-told, but I didn’t have quite the emotional connection with it that others have. La La Land has been talked about so much that I don’t know what I could possibly add to the conversation. Hell or High Water really surprised me – it was not remotely what I expected, and I was way more engaged than I thought I would be.

Manchester by the Sea was funnier than I thought it would be at the same time that it was devastating. I don’t think I ever need to see it again, but it was one of my favorite things I saw this year. The script for Fences blew me away when I first saw it, not to mention the acting, and I was rapt. When I sat down to watch Arrival, I thought it was an alien movie…and I was so wrong. I loved every moment of Arrival.

There it is – the extremely official ranking. Don’t even bother watching tomorrow night – I’m right.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “89th Annual Academy Awards

  1. Thanks for the quick overview. The only one I’ve had a chance to see is Hidden Figures. I’m glad it’s getting a lot of attention. Similar to The Help, I think it does a good job of introducing racial tension issues to people who might not pay attention otherwise, even if those issues are softened for the warmer tone of the film. Also, I think it’ll join October Sky in the DVD collection of teachers everywhere who need last minute substitute teacher plans.

Leave a Reply

