Here’s what I’m reading for Halloween

This year, I’ve got three very exciting new books on my Halloween reading list. (Alas, I cut Stephen King from the list because I just didn’t think I could make it through. But maybe in November I’ll revisit him! I’ve been thinking about The Stand a lot because B likes to spell things, so whenever he says “M-O-O-N moon” it makes me think of Tom Cullen.)

Anyway. This year I’m reading:

fullsizerender-3

Shirley Jackson’s We Have Always Lived in the Castle was on my self-created reading list for the class I’m currently taking, which is Thesis Writing Part 1. This is the final week of that class so I guess I should hurry up and get through it. I love Shirley Jackson and although I’m having kind of a hard time getting myself into this book, I think that has more to do with reading in brief increments. I think if I was able to sit down for a longer period of time, I would get sucked in.

I heard a lot of intriguing things about David Mitchell’s Slade House, and I’m eager to see how it unfolds. When I started the Read Harder challenge at the beginning of the year, I put this down to fulfill the “Horror book” category, and I’ve been deliberating putting off reading it so that I could read it for Halloween. Such planning ahead. Much wow.

Ray Bradbury’s The Halloween Tree has never been on my radar until I posted a picture of Drew, B, and me in front of a lit-up orange tree at Disneyland, and my friend Michelle started talking about it, referring to it as the Halloween tree. I looked it up, and it’s a tribute to Ray Bradbury, who worked with Disney on multiple projects, and obviously loved Halloween. If I’d looked more closely at the actual tree when we were there, maybe I would have noticed the plaque dedicating it to Bradbury. I like the fortuitous connection here, and I’m excited to have a legit Halloween book on the list this year, and (not gonna lie) I like that it’s only 160 pages.

In fact, these three books together comprise only 530 pages, and I’m trying to be realistic this year.

That’s what I’m reading to get in the Halloween spirit. What about you?

For previous years’ reading lists, see: 2014, 2013, 2012.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

