The State of the Union – July 2016

I’ve been working on this clip show post for a while…a long enough while that my original plan was to post on July 1, as a halfway-through-the-year thing. Oh well!

2016 has been good to us so far!

IMG_8181Baby H has grown out of her colicky newborn phase, and into a brilliant, adorable baby (who still has quite the voice when she wants to submit her disapproval of something). She’s 10 months and change now, talkative, opinionated, hungry. She stands on her own and has taken a couple little tiny one-off steps, but we’re expecting that to escalate quickly any day now. She’s been into light switches for a few days but could only turn them off, but today she figured out on, and now that will keep her occupied for a while. I want to put her in dresses more often, but they hinder her movement and she gets mad, which is cute. The last few weeks, she has really sucked at naps, which is frustrating, but I’m hoping it’s a phase. It might be tooth #8 attempting to make an appearance. But we try to blame a lot of things on teething.

IMG_8220As B gets closer to his fourth year, we’re seeing a change in his personality. Like maybe there is a light at the end of this threes tunnel. He started preschool about a month ago and he seems to love it. The other day he brought home his first artwork: a painted fish and a drawing of seaweed. I think they’re doing an ocean unit. He’s a chatterbox and it’s funny (but enlightening) how often I hear my words coming out of his mouth. Today he kept telling me, “Uh oh Mommy, that car cut us off!” That happened days ago, but he’s apparently got some road rage left over. We put up some rainbow lights in his room (which we use as a nightlight now) and this morning when I took H in to get him up, he was trying to show them to her. He said “Look, Baby H, look at my lights! Uh oh, she’s lookin the wrong way. Look over here!” It was so adorable and so human. Or something. We’ve been going out to a lot of parks and playgrounds, trying to find new cool places. Last weekend we went to Frontierland near us, which wasn’t new, but we haven’t been there since B was much younger. This was the first time we’ve gone anywhere that we both felt more comfortable letting him out of our sight – going short periods of times not knowing exactly where he was. It was a new experience and, I think, a big milestone for us as much as for him. His birthday’s in a couple months and we’re trying to figure out what we should do this year.

IMG_8216

B and H at 10.5 months

Drew started a new job as a social worker three weeks ago. He has a big caseload and I’m overwhelmed for him at the idea of tackling so much right off the bat, with very little training. He seems to be doing fine though. It’s actually his first office job, so he keeps asking me things like “Do you share your Outlook calendar with your coworkers?” which I think is funny. (The answer of course is NO! Haha, just kidding.) The new job means he’s not on 24/7 call anymore, which is nice, but he’s far less accessible to me during the day, which means fewer texts. My life is so hard.

I’m currently on my last regular class of my master’s program. After this I have two terms that will just be thesis writing, and then around the new year I’ll be done! I can’t believe it’s almost over – it’s kind of sad in a way. I’m intimidated by the idea of writing a thesis (and within, like, a 5 month period) but also really, really excited. I’m also hoping to parlay this experience into an online teaching position, since I know now that I have the time to devote to it.

IMG_7637We’ve been seeing a lot of whales near the Pacifica pier lately. It’s been really cool. Apparently there is actually a larger than usual number of them, and they are mostly humpback whales, which are extra acrobatic. We see them when we’re driving past the ocean, or even coming down the hill, from further away, or when we go for walks. I’ve never seen so many whales in the wild, and it’s really encouraging and awesome to see them. (I guess there are also extra blue whales, gray whales, and great white sharks out lately on this part of the coast, which all feels like good news to me. Yay nature!) Anyway, that’s been a fun thing so far this summer. B will now say, “Oh! Did you see that? It was a baby whale!” even if he probably didn’t see anything. It’s that mimicry thing coming out again.

So. Happy 2016 y’all.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

