Sleep Talking 34: Hurty Throat Sneeze

It’s not really talking, so much as it is an epiphany for me.

The other night, around 12:45, I was awakened by Drew sneezing (?) face down into his pillow (??) and then sitting straight up on the side of the bed. He sat there a while, until I finally said, “Are you okay?” He said, “I hurt my throat.”

Then he picked up his phone and was looking at something, and then he set it back down and he lay down* like he was going to go back to sleep. His phone was so bright and Baby H was starting to stir in her bed, and after a minute or two I thought, Actually, if that wakes her up I’ll be really bummed, so I sat up to see if it was going to go off.

He said, “What’s wrong?” and I said, “That is really bright,” and then it dimmed the way it does right before it turns off, but then he picked it up again and turned the screen back on, and then set it back down, bright again.

After a minute it turned off, and H didn’t wake up, and everyone went back to sleep. And, of course, he didn’t remember any of it in the morning.

So I think the moral is, if, in the middle of the night, I think something’s wrong with him (hurty throat sneeze) and he’s doing something for a reason (leaving his phone on and face up), he’s definitely not, and he definitely has no idea what he’s doing. Good to know.

*Grammar is not my strong suit, and I looked this up to make sure this was the correct lay/laid/lain/lie/lied word, and according to Grammarist it is, even if it looks weird.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

