My Definitive Best Picture Rankings

It was a close call, but I’m happy to say we just managed to finish watching all eight movies nominated for Best Picture this year, as is our tradition. As is also our tradition, my ranking of the movies varies wildly compared to Drew’s. Isn’t it nice that art is so subjective and can be enjoyed by so many people with different ideas and preferences?

Here’s my ranking of this year’s movies, from best to worst:

The Martian
Room
Brooklyn
Spotlight
Bridge of Spies
The Revenant
The Big Short
Mad Max

My system of ranking is extremely detailed and scientific. It involves putting the movies into a note in my phone as I watch them, based on the immediate experience I had. For example:

Room was amazing and also the hardest to watch. It only lost out to The Martian because I can’t really see watching Room again. The Martian is the surprise to me – I didn’t think I would like it as much as I did.

Brooklyn and Spotlight are really tied for third. I basically put Brooklyn ahead because I watched it after Spotlight and the experience was fresher.

Bridge of Spies was fun but a little slow. Tom Hanks is a national treasure. Mark Rylance is also a national treasure, but I’m assuming the UK has laid claim to him.

The Revenant was visually very interesting (shot using only natural light), and very gory, and also the only one of the movies I saw in the theater.

The Big Short and Mad Max are really the only two I would say I didn’t like, and I realize that I’m one of the very few people in the world who feels that way about Mad Max. But come on. Action movies about people driving around shooting at each other? Just not my thing. All they did was drive from point A to point B, and then back to point A.

So there you have it. The most definitive ranking of 2016 Academy Awards Best Picture nominees. Happy Oscars tomorrow!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

