Life lessons via graham crackers

This is one of those “You know you’re a mom (or parent) when…” moments.

So I was at a doctor’s appointment the other day, and while I was waiting, they were like, “Did you eat this morning?” And I thought about it and said no, and they said, “We have crackers and peanut butter, do you want some?” And I was like, “Yeah I do!”

So the nurse brought me these two little single-serving peanut butters with a plastic spoon, and two single-serving packets of graham crackers. And I was like, This actually looks really good. So I ate one serving of each, and then I thought, You know, B really likes graham crackers, and this is a very convenient individual serving size, I should probably save them for him. I’ll just eat the other peanut butter with this spoon.

And then I thought…Why am I saving this for him? This is for me, for a reason, and he doesn’t care if I don’t give this to him. He’ll never even know. Plus, he just eats crackers all day long. And not off-brand graham crackers. He gets goldfish and stuff. This is not a thing. I don’t have to give this to him. I’m going to eat this.

(By the way, this is all pragmatic – not out of malice. I don’t blame B for my weird ideas.)

So I opened the second package of graham crackers, set it on my knee to open the peanut butter…and it promptly slid off my slippery stretchy pants and onto the floor where all the crackers shattered.

And I thought, Touché universe. I have been reprimanded for my selfishness where graham crackers are concerned. And then I ate the peanut butter with a spoon.

And from that day forward, she shared everything with her children.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

