Once in a Blue Moon

There’s a blue moon tonight! It hasn’t happened since 2012 and isn’t scheduled to happen again until 2018. (It’s weird to say the moon is scheduled, like a dentist appointment, but you know what I mean.)

The internet (specifically The Guardian) tells me that while it’s commonly accepted that a “blue moon” is the second full moon in a calendar month, farmers actually used it to refer to the “third full moon in a season containing four.” Which sounds way less special.

As always happens to me when I find out there’s something special about a particular day, I have a sense that I should celebrate this somehow. Maybe I should do something I only do once in a blue moon. But what?

  • In an effort to cross something off my to-do list, I could purge the freezer. (That doesn’t happen too often.)
  • To relax, I could watch a movie with Drew, with our phones in the other room. (That just sounds like looking for an excuse to watch a movie.)
  • We could eat something special for dinner. (But that requires thinking of something special, and then obtaining/preparing it, and it’s already almost 5pm.)
  • I got it. I just got it. I could go to bed at like 8:30. That’s perfect.

Happy Blue Moon! Zzzzz….

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

