Happy birthday, Grandma!

Today is my grandma’s birthday! Happy birthday, Grandma!

Here is one of my favorite throwback pictures of her:

IMG_9865

Isn’t that a gorgeous photo? I don’t even know what year it is or what beach it’s taken at, but I just love how classy it is.

Recently I was given a bunch of stuff that’s been in storage in her garage, and one of the things is a folder with an envelope of negatives and the contact sheet to go with them. It’s a bunch of photos I’ve never seen of my grandparents, aunt, uncle, and parents, plus me as a toddler, at our house. It’s kind of cool because I don’t have a lot of memories of big gatherings there – we usually went to my grandparents’ house for holidays and stuff. So to see everyone in “my” back yard is special.

I have been looking for a place that will develop the photos for me, but did you know that photo developing (well, negative scanning, really) has become an obsolete art? I found a place down the peninsula that will do it, but I just have to get there. And remember to bring the negatives with me. Hopefully next week.

Incidentally, my grandma and I share a birthday. It’s always been one of those things that made me feel special and extra close to her. A week or so ago, my mom told me that she made that happen with her mind…that I was due on June 15 but she thought, Oh, if I can wait 2 more days they’ll share a birthday. (Pregnancy was apparently different back then, haha.) At any rate, I’m glad she managed it!

Happy birthday, Grandma! I hope you have a wonderful, blessed day!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Happy birthday, Grandma!

  1. Laura Hamilton

    Happy birthday, Syche!!! Love this post!

Leave a Reply

