Fun with Fire Hydrants

B has gotten really into spotting fire hydrants, which is interesting for me because I never really paid any attention to them. But they’re all over. (I guess that’s a good thing.) They also come in a surprising range of colors.

We were driving home from somewhere, and talking about all the fire hydrants, when Drew mentioned something about “the blue reflectors.” I didn’t know what he was talking about, so he started pointing out the blue reflectors, just off of the center line, every time there was a fire hydrant on the side of the road.

I have noticed these reflectors before, but accepted them as…what? Nothing? Sometimes I deliberately run over them because it’s satisfying to aim for something and feel that bump-bump. But now that I know what they represent…I see them everywhere. I feel like a whole new world of city planning has opened up for me.

Am I the only person who didn’t know the purpose of the blue reflectors??

  

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Fun with Fire Hydrants

  1. Mom and Dad

    Did we never tell you about the blue reflectors? I wonder what else we have not told you. Do you know about the pairs of shoes hanging from telephone lines? –Dad

  2. Mom

    just a reminder that there is always something new to learn.

Leave a Reply

