Disney Project 2014: The Fox and the Hound

Movie: The Fox and the Hound

Release year: 1981

My reaction: This is yet another one of those Disney movies that I’ve seen maybe once. So I was very emotionally involved in, say, the opening credits, where Tod’s mother sacrifices herself for him right off the bat. Awww! I was also surprised later at the ferocity with which Copper vows to get revenge on Tod for Chief’s injuries. It wasn’t his fault! Just be friends, guys!

I just had to look up The Fox and the Hound 2, which I assumed would be like Lady and the Tramp 2, and focus on the offspring on the first movie’s main characters. But it actually takes place during Tod and Copper’s childhood together (which I thought was only like a week long), during which Copper is “tempted to join a band of singing stray dogs.” LOL, “direct to video” indeed.

Fun fact: Did you know that the name Tod (or Todd) originates from Middle English and means “fox”? Widow Tweed, the lonely crazy old woman who adopts baby Tod and is basically the cause of all this trouble because she doesn’t know that foxes aren’t tame, says she names him Tod because he’s “such a toddler.” But I think that Disney probably used the name because of its origins. They’re clever like that.

Drew says: I don’t think that puppy [Copper] is cute. I don’t like that his eyes are all sunken in.

And here is it. The best picture we could get.

photo (19)

Leave a comment

Filed under Children, Drew, Movies

Leave a Reply

