Disney Project 2014: Lady and the Tramp

Movie: Lady and the Tramp

Release year: 1955

My reaction: This is one of my all-time favorite Disney movies. Obviously a lot of my top 5 are princess movies, because I am a girl who was born in the 1980s. But I have a deep and abiding love for Lady and the Tramp. Like every second of it. I’m not even a dog person. As usual this weekend, we spent some time chasing B around, some time playing with him, and some a little time sitting quietly as a family and watching the movie.

Fun film fact: You know the song Bella Notte, when Lady stays out all night with Tramp? There’s this theory that they sleep together, which in the 1950s was sort of a no-no. (Plus, the movie takes place during the 1890s.) That’s why she’s so upset afterward, because she gave up her honor. And that’s why Jock and Trusty offer to “marry” her – because she’s pregnant and they are trying to help her. I just really like that that’s another layer to the story that I never would have gotten as a kid.

1544464_10102609938050053_8016942980664563898_n

2 Comments

Filed under Children, Drew, Movies

2 responses to “Disney Project 2014: Lady and the Tramp

  1. I recently had my 3 year old watch it. Considering it’s such an oldie and much slower than the recent ones, I was surprised she sat through the whole thing! Maybe because it’s about dogs?

Leave a Reply

