I’m mad as hell, and I’m not going tomato this anymore

I’m giving up. Or taking a stand. Whatever you call it, I’m not going to put up with it any longer.

Tomatoes from the store (or restaurant, or wherever) don’t taste like anything anymore. I love tomatoes, but that’s not what I’m eating on my salads or sandwiches anymore. I don’t know WHAT I’m eating. They are red and round and they vary in size, but there’s no taste. Its purpose is texture only. And let’s face it, tomatoes can have a pretty gnarly texture.

So, this weekend, after shelling out for a clamshell pack of organic grape tomatoes at our local grocery store, only to throw them away because they tasted like soft sour nothing instead of just plain nothing…I’m not going to do it anymore.

I guess tomatoes just really suffer from being out of season, or not locally grown. So from now on, we’ll buy tomatoes during the months from July to October, and we’ll buy them only from farmer’s markets, or we’ll mooch them off our parents. I don’t want to forget what tomatoes taste like. This is the dystopian future I live in. Take that, Hunger Games / Divergent / The Maze Runner.

1 Comment

Filed under Nature, Nonfiction, Not awesome, Self improvement, Tomato, Writing

One response to “I’m mad as hell, and I’m not going tomato this anymore

  1. You got it. Eat ’em in season, along with a lot of other fresh goods.
    That’s the real reason we garden and raise up to a dozen varieties of tomatoes.
    By the way, where we live the dandelion greens are just coming up … and I’m already planning on devouring them for a few precious weeks before the lettuce and asparagus takes over.

Leave a Reply

