The special beans

I gave up chocolate for Lent this year. It hasn’t been too bad so far. It’s only been 9 days. Only 35 more days to go. (Or something like that.)

There’s plenty of other sweet stuff that I can find to try to fill the void. Including (but not limited to) dried pineapple, popsicles, and vanilla lattes. It’s both a blessing and a curse. (PS. It doesn’t completely fill the void. I cannot wait for post-Easter half-priced Robin Eggs.)

Every year I ponder Lent – what exactly is the reason that I’m giving something up? I have to re-justify what I’m doing, and figure out how to frame it. I have read different theories for how the tradition came about, and I think that the one that suits me best, and makes the most sense, is that I’m making a sacrifice, albeit small, to honor God’s sacrifice for me.

So even if giving up chocolate feels like a superficial thing to do, I suppose there’s a point to it. I don’t know if I’ll necessarily come out the other side of this a better person, but all introspection is good introspection, and I’ve never heard of someone regretting going 6 weeks without eating chocolate.

Now if only my coworkers would stop leaving bowls of it out on their desks all day…

3 Comments

Filed under Food, Holidays, Memoir, Nonfiction, Religion, Self improvement, Writing

3 responses to “The special beans

  1. Dad

    Throwing a curve at you…Lent is 40 days, over 6 1/2 weeks between Ash Wed and Easter. The reason it’s short six or so days is because Sundays are not OF Lent, but IN Lent (I have this on good authority from your uncle). So, technically, Sundays don’t count. Now what do you do? Dad (your mom says I’m mean).

  2. Mom and Dad

    But by the way, we’re both impressed with your introspective soliloquy.

Leave a Reply

