Isn’t it neat?

The other night the three of us were driving back from Lodi and listening to a CD I found in my CD case with no label, no name, and no track list. It could have been anything.

What it ended up being was a pretty good mix of the kind of classics that most people are sure to know: American Pie, Manic Monday, For the Longest Time, Fast Car, Tom’s Diner, etc. A pleasant surprise…a lot of those unlabeled CDs end up being much worse.

Then Part of Your World came on (yes, definitely the best mix ever) and I remembered, as I always do, a Disney trip with my family when I was in…late middle school? Early high school? I was in a big Little Mermaid phase, and I wanted to wait in line to take a picture with Ariel. (I’m already embarrassed about telling this story.)

I was in line, up next, and watching Ariel interact with the little girl ahead of me. She said, “Okay, now smile at the – what do you call it? – photographer!” and I thought that was so sweet. She was made of big arm gestures and smiles and hair flips.

When I got up there though, she was all business in a bad wig. She smiled for the picture but where was all the cutesy stuff? That’s okay, it would have been worse to be patronized. But the photo that came of it – awkward 13-ish-year-old me in a t-shirt and shorts and sandals with socks (oh man, I sat just now and debated including that, but you know, the truth will out) – is all the more embarrassing because of the big gap between the two of us.

Every so often, that photo resurfaces in my “stuff from the past,” and each time I debate throwing it out. Seriously, I don’t know if I need to say this again, but it is a really embarrassing picture. There is no possible reason I could ever want to show it to anyone, or look at it myself. But I just haven’t gotten around to getting rid of it. Maybe someone can tell me why.

2 Comments

Filed under Being a girl, Family, Fashion, Humor, Memoir, Nonfiction, Not awesome

2 responses to “Isn’t it neat?

  1. That’s funny. Life’s full of those little moments we just don’t know what to do with. I’ve had a few of my own, one with “Queen Elizabeth I” at the Lost Colony reenactment. Every so often the host a tea party, with the actors in-character, for young girls. I was in about 4th grade, in my yellow dress and tiara. The actors kept asking me what I was, if I was a princess, duchess or what not. I just kept telling them “No, I’m just me” and didn’t get what they were saying until after the fact. That’s one of my embarrassing stories.

  2. jen

    i think you should post this photo up and let your readers vote on whether or not to keep it around. note, this is for voting purpose only not to judge the embarrassment level of it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

