Seven Years

There’s an old wives’ tale that every seven years all the cells in your body have regenerated and replaced themselves, so every seven years you’re like a brand new person.

There’s another saying that relationships suffer from the “seven year itch,” and that you need to be careful at that point because that’s when many people re-evaluate their relationships, and break-ups or divorces happen.

(There’s also research to suggest that the “seven year itch” has become the “three year itch,” and that’s the year you really need to watch out for. Yikes. Three years? Apprently attention spans are shrinking…)

Internet rumors and Yahoo answers aside…this is on my mind because today is Drew’s and my seven year anniversary. It’s hard to believe that it’s only been seven years. I feel like it’s been forever. I couldn’t even buy alcohol when we first got together, and since then we’ve been through college graduations (a certain classmate graduating with each of us, in two different years!), two cross-country moves, pets, no pets, jobs, no jobs, tough times and easier times.

There were times for each of us that we weren’t sure it was going to work out. But that was early days, when we were both still figuring out the intricacies of relationships. By now we’ve learned how to weather storms and that most arguments are momentary and inconsequential. We’ve hit our stride. I could do this forever.

I’m probably not supposed to say this, but I’ve changed a lot in seven years, and it’s due to this relationship. Am I a whole new person? Possibly. Am I better person? Definitely. I’m more patient, quicker to be grateful, and less moody. And if I’m a little cattier…well, it’s all in good spirits. I like me now. I hope other people like me now too.

Happy Anniversary Drew! Here’s to seventy-seven more years! (Hope he reads this post. Otherwise this is kind of awkward.)

Bakers Square, Davis, Jan 2005

8 Comments

Filed under Awesome, Being a girl, Dreams, Drew, Family, Love, Memoir, Self improvement, Sentiment

8 responses to “Seven Years

  1. Sara

    Aw…this was sweet! Miss you!

  2. jen

    was this picture taken at a baker’s square? i miss those. happy anniversary!

  3. Dad

    Seven years?!? I’m feeling old now. But here’s another wish for 77 more. Happy anniversary! (If this is your anniversary, what was that big thing in November?) Love and hugs and kisses and cheek-pinches.

    • I guess I haven’t completely transitioned over into November being the only anniversary. But you know, back in the day, Jan 29 was the only one we knew. Plus, there’s all that “7 years” stuff, so it was on my mind, you know what I’m saying? =)

  4. Katie Daley

    I think I might have taken that photo:)

  5. Joe

    Congratulations Guys!

Leave a Reply

