Bring It On: The Musical

Last night Drew and I went to see Bring It On – the musical with the same title of, but not based on, the movie. It’s at the Orpheum Theatre in San Francisco, which has an awesome ceiling.

I have been equating Bring It On with Legally Blonde – both fluffy musicals about blonde girls with more depth than it first appears. I mean, that’s what I assumed.

Here’s what I have to say about the show:

I liked it. The music and lyrics were co-written by Lin-Manuel Miranda, who did In the Heights, which is one of my top 5 all time favorite shows. The direction and choreography (some of which was truly amazing) is by Andy Blankenbuehler, who also did the choreography for In the Heights. I was fascinated by some of the cheerleading stunts. I laughed at jokes. I enjoyed the songs. I understand that I’m not supposed to take any existential meaning from it. I would fully recommend the show to…anyone. I want the cast recording (which apparently doesn’t exist as of yet).

But.

Last night was the press opening (which we didn’t know) and they had papered the house with high school students. In the mezzanine there was a large group of students chanting and cheering before the show started. Right after 8:00 (the show started about 10 minutes late) a group of like 8 14-year-olds girls (and one androgynous 14-year-old) came in and sat down in the seats next to us. Here’s what I have to say about them:

I don’t think there was one moment that they all had their phones closed. They were constantly checking their phones, needing to fish things out of plastic bags wrapped in other plastic bags, bouncing in their seats and looking down into the mezz, and – the worst of all – straight up talking to each other.

After the first five minutes or so of this, Drew and I staringly got their attention and it might be true that I slashed my finger across my throat and said “KNOCK IT OFF” in a loud whisper. I spent the next five minutes worried that it was too harsh, but I needn’t have worried. They didn’t care. They continued to talk through the entire 2 and a half hour show.

At intermission and after the show, Drew and I were ranting about them, and as we calmed down he wondered whether we were just annoyed too easily. After all, all kinds of things are annoying: the car in front of us in line bouncing on their brake lights, the ushers’ lackadaisical, “Hey, no pictures…we just have a couple rules” as he walks away.

But I think no. I think that there are little everyday annoyances that you go, “This is so frustrating!” and then get over. And then there are the rude, unchaperoned, socially-unaware teenagers who literally don’t care that you’re sitting next to them staring at them because they are having a conversation during a show. A show that we a lot of people around them paid a lot of money to see.

On the way home, Drew and I vowed that our children will never behave that way. Because we will kill them if they do.

So okay. So Bring It On was great. But teenagers are not. But if you’re in SF and contemplating it – go see it! Super fun.

2 Comments

Filed under "Other people", Children, Drew, Not awesome, Theatre

2 responses to “Bring It On: The Musical

  1. David (Uncle Pastor) Hamilton

    Wow. We had a similar thing happen to us at a Christmas concert we went to a couple of weeks ago. The young ‘uns in front of us spent the whole evening looking at their phones, whispering to each other (guess we should be thankful they whispered), and otherwise being completely oblivious to the fact that they were in a place where others were trying to pay attention to something going on up front, involving all those funny people in choir robes and holding musical instruments. What’s with this next generation? And why can’t they be like we were, perfect in every way? What’s the matter with kids today? If you do end up killing your own children for being obnoxious like this, we will testify on your behalf at your trial, that it was justifiable homicide.

    • Well thank you! I’m sure your testimony will go a long way. Luckily we won’t have to deal with that because we will absolutely teach our kids to be fine upstanding members of society…much like we, of course, were.

      Also, Drew and I went to a screening of the movie “The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo” earlier this week, and since the movie hasn’t opened yet, they took all of our cell phones / iPads / recording devices away so we couldn’t sneak out clips of it. Which means that, before the movie started, there was no one checking Facebook and sending texts. It’s like…eerie.

      Gotta keep up with the times!

Leave a Reply

