At the library…

Last week, Jonathan and I were in Borders on University in Palo Alto, picking through the few things left. I actually picked up some good stuff – a Dean Koontz book from the 80s (love them!), Laurie Notaro’s Spooky Little Girl, an Augusten Burroughs I haven’t read yet, and It’s All Relative, by Wade Rouse – a memoir that Jen Lancaster told me to read. 80% off rocks – although I am sorry that Borders has to close.

Anyway, I saw this on the mystery shelf: The Chocolate Cat Caper. And I took a picture of it, and made fun of it in my head.

I’m sure you know what I mean.

Like, I totally believe there’s a market somewhere of older women, who just love chocolate, cats, and mysteries. I mean, I guess I like all those things, and I’m not that old. But I just don’t think that you have to make it that easy for people to make fun of you.

Psshhh…Chocolate Cat Caper.

So then yesterday, I was killing time between the matinee and the evening show, at the Mountain View public library. I wandered over to the mysteries shelf, and checked out the Agatha Christies. I picked up The Pale Horse because I’ve never read it. The main character’s name is Thomasina, which I thought was funny, or something.

I wandered through a few more aisles, and then saw One Hundred Girls’ Mother, “A Women of the West Novel” by Lenore Carroll, lying out of place on a shelf. the cover looked interesting so I opened it up to read the inside flap of the jacket, and it also features a woman named Thomasina! So I thought it was a sign, and I took that one too.

Then I saw Tales of the City, by Armistead Maupin, which I totally have been wanting to read, so I grabbed that too. Pretty excited about that one.

Anyway, then I saw this series of books back in the mystery section!

A whole series of Chocolate Mystery things! That is even funnier than I originally thought it was. And that’s the whole point of this post.

1 Comment

Filed under "Other people", Books

One response to “At the library…

  1. Your Secret Admirer

    You’re a hypocrite. If that was called “Harry Potter and the Chocolate Crap That Old Ladies Like” you would eat it up!

Leave a Reply

