Fool Me Eight Times

I’m kind of a snob about books made into movies. It’s not good to be a snob about anything, probably, but if it had to be something, I’m glad it’s book-to-movie adaptations, and not beer or cars or food, I guess.

(Although, that might be circular logic. If I really cared about beer or cars or food, then I’d be glad I did…etc.)

Anyway, here’s a list of good book-to-movie adaptations:

“Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption” by Stephen King –> The Shawshank Redemption

Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe by Fannie Flagg –> Fried Green Tomatoes, in which the director had to mostly remove the lesbian subplot, although he has said that the food fight is supposed to symbolize their sexual relationship.

All three of the Lord of the Rings books by JRR Tolkein –> the Lord of the Rings trilogy

The Green Mile by Stephen King –> The Green Mile, starring Tom Hanks (looking all plastic and Polar Express-y), and look at that! Directed by Frank Darabont, who also directed The Shawshank Redemption

Little Children, by Tom Perrotta –> Little Children – hot movie poster, totally changed ending and all!

Rosemary’s Baby, by Ira Levin, one of the greatest writers ever –> Rosemary’s Baby, a horror movie I only recently watched on Netflix instant, and was totally pleasantly surprised

 

And here’s an example of a bad book-to-movie adaptation,
which is really my whole point here:

Every Harry Potter movie ever, but most recently, Deathly Hallows part 2.

Last night, after seeing it with Drew (who agrees with me) and my friend Molly (who really liked it), I posted on my Facebook saying that I thought the movie was disappointing, and asking if anyone felt the same way. I refrained from saying anything sweeping and vague, and obviously looking for trouble, like, “It was terrible.” But I got only comments from people saying they enjoyed it.

Luckily, these people are my friends, and I think we can agree to disagree on something on stupid as a Harry Potter movie. But I still wanted a response from someone who agreed with me. (I’m super grateful that Drew feels the same way as I do – otherwise it could’ve gotten tense around these parts last night.)

Even at work this morning I was met with someone saying, “Well, I really liked it, but then, I read all the books.” And I was like… “Um, so did I. That’s part of the problem.”

Since I don’t want to pick fights with anyone, but I still want to vent my feelings, and I’m due a blog post anyway…this is what you get. This is my platform to say that Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 was a bad representation of the second half of the book, as well as being not a good stand-alone movie.

My particular issues (POSSIBLE SPOILERS):

1. Why change things? What’s all this about a boathouse? What’s wrong with going to the Shrieking Shack?

2. What is this “Harry hears horcruxes” business? Don’t you wish now, WB, you had waited to start making the movies until JK Rowling had written all the books, so you could put in all the information you needed, so you didn’t have to make up some dumb ish about him “hearing” the horcruxes?

3. Does anyone who hasn’t read the books even know what a horcrux is? Someone who hasn’t read the books, please comment and tell me if you have any idea what horcruxes and hallows are. Can you name all of them? And describe their function in the story?

4. I felt like this movie was ALL ACTION. Which I guess makes sense, given it is the final 400 pages of a 4000-page (estimate) series. But it was too much action. I needed more story. Not just running and jumping and then apparently…flying around…with Voldemort? C’mon.

Okay. So I get that I was set up to dislike the movie. I mean, I haven’t really liked any of them, and I’ve been very focused on what was left out or changed from the books, as well as that familiar disappointment about characters and places not looking like how I pictured them. But still. Deathly Hallows part 1 was actually kind of impressive, and I guess that raised my hopes a little for part 2.

At any rate, I definitely wanted to see it in the theatre, it’s the end of an era, etc, etc. I just know there have to be more people out there who don’t feel like this movie should be getting a 97% on rottentomatoes.

Okay. I have probably said enough. But it’s like I have said before, it’s hard for me to keep quiet about certain things. Harry Potter movies, embarrassingly enough, are one of those things.

On a happy note…my favorite part of part 1 was the animation about the creation of the deathly hallows!

3 Comments

Filed under Books, Nonfiction

3 responses to “Fool Me Eight Times

  1. Alyssa

    I thought it was disappointing and anticlimatic. Though I did still enjoy it (mostly because I was on a date with my husband and that is always a rare and excting thing 😉 It also helps that I haven’t read the books since they each came out so I don’t remember the big differences.
    My husband never read the books and he understood what the hallows were and the horcruxes but didn’t understand the whole purpose of them for the movie, especially since the stone was just a quick apperance… and I couldn’t explain because I hadn’t read the books in so long.
    I do really want to go back and read the books now because I think I would enjoy them even more now.

  2. Sara

    I will certainly go ahead and support you on the “people or haven’t read the books have no idea what a horcrux is (or the function of the hallow, for that matter)” thing. Personally, I haven’t seen any of the movies and have only read 4 of the books. I’ll eventually read them all…and see all of the movies. And probably then agree with you even more.

    On a related note, another great book to film is Forrest Gump. If anything, the film was 10 times better than the book.

    Lastly, thank you for the hot picture of Kate Winslet and Patrick Wilson.

Leave a Reply

