Day 5: A Normal Girl, An Awesome Birthday

So mostly today was just chill. I slept in, sat around reading, went to the gym, accidentally stole someone’s treadmill (totally not my fault), bought some fudgsicles, took a shower, washed some dishes, watered plants…

Then Drew came home and Facebooked me a Clue.

"Where could this be going?"

That started a 3-hour treasure hunt, that took us from Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, to Sean Connery, to Milagra Ridge, to the Pacifica Pier, to Craigslist Missed Connections, to Barnes and Noble at Tanforan, to our closet.

It was a lot of walking outside in the wind.

But I found the first outside clue (at Milagra Ridge) pretty quickly.

I understood what “tadpole graveyard” was referring to…but that clue was well-hidden on another of the many Pacifica ridges.

After I finally figured it out, we trekked back to where the car was parked.

Next stop: Rainbow Brite and the Star Stealers FTW!

MISSED CONNECTION…I’ve never had a missed connection before! (Missed Connections is a section on Craigslist where you can put up a message for a stranger, maybe someone with whom you exchanged a meaningful glance on the street, in the hopes that they’ll read it and email you and you can fall in love. Or whatever.)

(Man, that table has become kind of a mess.)

Fun Fact: Drew has since gotten two responses to this ad, and neither of them are from me.

To Barnes and Noble!

While I looked through all the copies of A Streetcar Named Desire, a man perused the Shakespeare volumes on the higher shelf.

And as long as we’re at Barnes and Noble anyway, we might as well pick up a couple Stephen King books to round out my collection.

Then home, because I had to go through all these shoes…

And this laundry basket of socks…

To find my present: a passport! Well, everything I need to just go in and get my passport.

I’ve never had a passport, but I really want one. And it’s one of my 2011 New Year’s Resolutions to get one. But it’s one of those things that just kind of never gets done… Best birthday present ever! And best day ever! So much fun. And I’m glad Drew wanted to document the whole thing.

I probably don’t talk him up enough. Trust me – he’s the best. Like, ever.

6 Comments

Filed under Awesome, Drew, Memoir

6 responses to “Day 5: A Normal Girl, An Awesome Birthday

  1. This is amazing! Happy birthday, again. And well done, Drew.
    (I love the photo of the two of you)

  2. Holly

    Great treasure hunt. I’ve only ever done a house wide one before so this is amazing! And also, you’ve never had a passport, I’ve heard that a lot of americans don’t is it true then?
    Happy Birthday too!! too cute a post!

    • Thanks Holly! (PS I love that you came clean on your name…LOL)

      I don’t know what the percentage is of Americans who don’t have a passport…but I would guess that most of us don’t. I have only been out of the country once, and it was Canada, before you needed a passport. But soon I’ll be ready to jet off around the world at a moment’s notice!

  3. Holly

    ps you two are very very pretty together!

  4. liz

    Okay, you guys just won cutest married couple ever award. Adorable. More than adorable. I’m in love with how much you guys love each other. Happy Birthday, darling girl.

  5. Craig Marker

    Treasure hunts are the best. He’s a keeper. And Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

