Happy Mother’s Day!

Dear Mom,

I don’t know when it’s normal for a girl to realize that she’s turning into her mom, but for me it was around age 23 or 24 when I started hearing your words coming out of my mouth. At first I was a little taken aback – who knew it would happen so suddenly and unexpectedly?

As time has gone on though, I’ve come to appreciate the wisdom in the things I hear myself say, and I know it came directly from you. Things like how you shouldn’t read at the dinner table, and you should converse with the rest of your family. Or when Robb and I used to begrudgingly ask what we should do on house-cleaning Saturdays, and you would say, “Just look around and do what needs to be done.” Or when Drew and I left for New York and you told us to take care of each other. 

I guess I really was listening all those years.

I’ve always known I’m very lucky to be blessed with such wonderful parents. I had a great childhood and I still reminisce about it. A couple weeks ago, when we came back from our Lakeport weekend, all the laundry I’d brought back smelled like home and it caused me a great many wandering thoughts. But I’m also happy to say that I don’t feel like I peaked in my teenage years – I feel like I’m still growing all the time. Because you guys gave me an incredible foundation of faith, family, and self-confidence.

What I’ve been especially lucky to have is our evolving mom-daughter relationship. I like the way it has turned into a friendship. Maybe it helps that I don’t call and ask for money anymore. Maybe it also helps that I was so far away for those three years, so now we are both that much more appreciative of being in the same state. Maybe it’s just what happens when a girl becomes an adult – she discovers that she and her mom have so much more in common than she ever realized.

So thanks for being the best mom ever! And thanks for always being happy to hear from me. And thanks for setting the bar so high and being a good role model. I hope that when I have kids, they love me as much as I love you.

Happy Mother’s Day!

Syche

1 Comment

Filed under Being a girl, Family

One response to “Happy Mother’s Day!

  1. Aunt Denise

    Well, this is certainly going to make your Mom cry! I know I’m not your mom, but I am mighty proud of you!
    Love,
    Denise

Leave a Reply

